Information about Constitution

The City Council's constitution describes the four basic elements through which the council operates: the Council, the Executive, Overview and Scrutiny, and the Committees.


The constitution sets out:


•the rules and procedures to be followed by the Council and committees when conducting their business;

•the decision making powers of the Executive and of Committees;

•the financial and contract regulations;

•the scheme of delegation to chief officers;

•the rights of the public to inspect reports and background documents;


The Constitution is made up of six parts:


•Summary and Explanation

•Articles of the Constitution

•Responsibility for Functions

•Procedure Rules

•Codes of Conduct and Protocol

•Councillor' Allowances